The emperor of all maladies

About a week ago one of my friends told me about a book that was written by Siddhartha Mukherjee. It was an author I’d never even heard about so I went to the library and got ‘The emperor of all maladies’. This book was so interesting that I had to write about it!

The book starts with the history of cancer. Diagnoses started very early but throughout history nobody could find a cure. Not even a way to relieve some of the symptoms. It’s amazing to see that most treatments only started a century ago. Throughout history people often saw cancer as something incurable and there weren’t many scientists who tried to find a cure.

The rise of chemicals has had such a big influence on cancer treatments. The first use of chemicals on cancer patients were more of a trial and error. People kept trying out different chemicals and hoped to find something that could stop the growth of cancerous cells. Some chemicals worked but they always worked temporarily and caused such disappointment. Even trough all of those disappointments people kept going on and kept combining medicines and different techniques to find something.

The reason why this book is really good is because it’s one of the few books that can grab your attention and keep it. It was so well written that you could even think of it as a novel. There is a way of expressing desire in such way that it’s almost as though you’re reliving the entire thing – that’s what this book is able to do.
I would probably tell you more about this book but I don’t want to spoil it by telling everything. I hope that this brief resume interests you enough to go to the library and read it because I promise you this book is amazing.

Lots of love
-M. Doctor in spe

2 comments

  1. Thanks for the recommendation, Mavis. This sounds like a good read, especially for a med student. I’m currently listening to Rebecca Skloot’s “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks,” in the car–it’s definitely worth a look.

    Thanks also for checking out my blog, MindfulMedStudent.net. I was wondering how you’ve been able to fit writing into your med school schedule? Also, could you tell me more about the title of your blog? I don’t know the term “spe”.

    Like

    1. The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks looks like an incredible book! Definitely going on my to-read-list. I would say that it’s difficult to fit writing into my school schedule I have very long days. But I enjoy writing. I consider my blog as a sort of diary and I just write whenever I have some time. Even just 10 minutes is good enough 🙂
      As for my blog name. In high school I studied Latin. Doctor in spe is Latin for ‘doctor to be’. Since I’m only a student I figured that it would be a nice blog name.

      Like

Leave a Reply

