The medical tag

Since I’ve tagged people I follow, I figured that it was time to answer the questions to my own tag. I hope that it’ll will give you an image of who I am!

  1. Who are you?
    My name is M. and I’m a medicine student in Europe. I’ve just started my first year in medical school.
  2. How did you come up with your blog name/username?
    My blog name is Doctor in spe. The term ‘in spe’ is Latin for ‘in the future’ or ‘to be’. Since I studied Latin in high school I wanted my blog to kind of refer to that period.
  3. How would you describe your blog?
    Doctorinspe is currently a mix of everything that interests me and is related to the medical field. Sometimes I like giving my opinion on a subject, sometimes I’ll write about something that’s noteworthy. It varies a lot!
  4. What made you choose the medical field?
    When I was a kid I loved watching a show called ‘there ones was…’ which was a series on the human body, made for children. That show has always laid a foundation to pursue a career in medicine.
  5. What are your best tips for future medical students?
    Don’t forget to enjoy medical school. There are a lot of things to do when you’re not studying so go out every once and a while and have some fun! Don’t miss out on the fun because you’re always studying!
  6. What’s your favorite quote?
    Life is not the amounts of breath you take, it’s the moments that take your breath away – Will Smith.
  7. Best memory in medical school?
    My best memory was getting into medical school. It was just so gratifying. I remember screaming like 5 minutes before I could process the whole thing. When I told my  brother he did the exact same thing :’).
  8. What’s one course you struggled with?
    Biochemistry. Purely because I was too lazy to make time to study it (yes I have flaws too). Biochemistry is quite a detailed course and I shouldn’t have postponed it that much. You can’t start learning chapter two if you don’t know the first chapter. Biggest mistake in medical school!
  9. Name one thing you want to achieve this year.
    I would like to pass all of my classes upcoming semester πŸ™‚ but I would also love to make this blog into something that I will be proud of.
  10. What’s your favorite book?
    My favorite medical related book is the emperor of all maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee. I gave a brief resume on my blog so check it out! The main reason why I liked it is because of the infinite dedication these people showed for cancer research. The world needs more people like that!
  11. What do you do in your free time?
    I blog whenever I find some time and I love watching movies and series. My current favorite series is Grimm and the best movie I watched last month was Sing.
  12. What do you want to major in?
    I have no idea and I don’t even worry about that right now. I still have 6 more years to go so I’ll figure that out along the way ;).
  13. How do you study productively?
    I’m currently using flashcards which helps me a lot! I also use the My homework application to track all of my tasks.
  14. How do you stay motivated in medical school?
    Thinking about that beautiful white coat everytime I can.
  15. Who do you look up to?
    I would like to name a scientist or someone who has done something extraordinary but I look up to my family. My mom dad and brother have supported me so much and I look up to them because of that

I hope you enjoyed this article! Let me know in the comment section if you’re going to do the medical tag :).

Lots of love
– M. Doctor in spe

11 comments

      1. Just posted them πŸ™‚ I don’t know if they are as sharp as yours, but tried my best! thank you for tagging me in this activity, it was one of my favorites for sure!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

