Challenge update

I’ve noticed quite a few things on this challenge. The main one is that I didn’t follow the perfection plan 100%. I get tired and lazy too and sometimes I really need a day off. But while trying to attain these habits I benefitted a lot.

1. I am way behind with studying
I’m not sure how but somehow I got way behind on anatomy. The thing is that I focus a lot on small details and I don’t want to move on if I don’t know everything just yet. As a result I’m way behind on schedule and I’ll try to get on track asap.

I currently make mini to-do lists and cross what I’ve finished. I have a lot of courses that follow quickly during my exams so I need to start cramming – which is something I wish I could’ve avoided.

2. Social media
I still use Facebook, mostly for educational purposes. For example talking to my mentor or planning a session for physics or chemistry. It’s still very hard to leave all the other things alone though! For some reason people reach out to me to answer questions so I end up having about 10 messages about courses in the evening.

I try to track as much of this challenge on Instagram if you want to ‘follow’ me during this period. I don’t always update pictures but there are a few @Doctorinspe. I try to not pay too much attention to making these pictures look nice. I’ve got better things to do with my time than organizing food and taking pretty pictures. Also I use an app called daymine which automatically sets the date and time so I kind of oblige myself to keep up.

Another thing I did was check the news quite often. There are rector elections currently and both parties are a bad choice for our university -in my opinion. I even felt ashamed of the arguments they used. I can’t believe that these people might become our rector.

3. Healthy food
Since I live at home I’m bound to eat whatever my family is eating and I do respect that. I don’t expect my mother to make something different just for me. This however means that if we’re having french fries I need to eat that too. Yesterday it was mothers day and my mom made a cake, two batches of cupcakes and brownies. Needless to say I couldn’t resist (shoutout to my mom who cooked on her own mothersday).

I also craved chocolate a lot! I made sure that the chocolate I ate was pure (and I do check the label to get 70-80% chocolate) but I have to admit that I also ate Kinder Bueno which is very sweet (but soooo gooooood!).

If I don’t have enough time for breakfast I’ll replace it with a smoothie. It takes me under 5 minutes to make one so I know what I’ll be drinking during my exams.

4. Working out
The past week I went bicycling once and went for a run once. Before sleeping I also did some yoga.
I’ve pushed working out to the weekend which was not a good idea at all. I always assumed that working out took a lot of time but when put in perspective it honestly is not that bad! It usually takes me 15-30 minutes per workout session which is completely fine if you ask me.

5. Sleeping habits
Creating good sleep habits felt weird. I used to have a natural clock which woke me up very early. Even as a kid I’d wake up early in the morning but during high school and university my clock shifted and I would sleep through because I didn’t have anything to do. I set my alarm at 6:00 but because of the pressure and stress I always woke up earlier. My natural clock wakes me up before 6:00 a.m. so I’m quite lucky. If I’m really tired, I’ll wake up at around 8:15.

All in all this challenge was obviously a lot of work. Putting in a 100% everyday was very exhausting and I came to class feeling tired. The thing is that it made me realize the importance of hard work. Everyone can achieve everything they want as long as they are willing to put the effort and hard work in it. It’ll be a struggle but it’ll make the end goal worth it even more. I’m going tot keep trying to put this much effort in everything I do. This challenge will be going on until I go on a hopefully well-deserved vacation.
During my vacation I’ll try to upload something but I prefer to enjoy my vacation. Especially after all of the work I’ll be putting in now. I hope you enjoyed this article :).

Lots of love
-A doctor in spe

 

5 comments

  1. it’s great that you’re trying to keep good sleeping habits. I have a friend who is a natural morning person (I’m definitely more of a night owl) so they kindly offered to help me wake up earlier, which I found really helped. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad I came across your page! I have nothing but respect for Med students and the medical field. Keep up the good work, turning your challenges above into a lifestyle is key. That way you aren’t trying to force yourself to workout, eat healthy, or get sleep. It’s just a part of your daily routine! As students it can be so hard though. I’ll be following your journey, and hope you can do the same with mine. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

