World mental health day

It’s world mental health day and I thought it’d be nice to talk about mental health today as a lot of people struggle with mental health. I would like to emphasize that I’m not a professional (yet) so if you’re having any health issues I’d advise you to see a GP.

There are a lot of mental disorders. The biggest issue medics are facing is that diagnosing mental disorders is difficult because there’s still a lot about the human brain that we don’t know about.

It should be no surprise to you but mental health for example depression, anxiety disorders, schizophrenia actually affects millions of people all around the world. Mental health is very diverse and there are a lot of different disorders. Did you know that 1 in 4 adults and 1 in 10 teenagers(!!!) will experience some kind of mental health problem during their life. In Britain. Mixed anxiety and depression are the most common mental disorders.
I decided that it might be interesting to leave a blogpost I read today. It’s written by Katie Conibear who was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. She has a great blog which you can see here.

What I loved most is that you can get involved with some amazing fundraisers and activities that the mental health foundation organizes. I thought it would be best to leave a link to both – American and English – foundations. You can find a lot of information on their sites AND you can find out how you can make a difference!

United Kingdom
The United States
Also check out Twitter!

It’s time to change the mentality we have when it comes to mental disorders and illness and I hope that this post is a step in the right direction.

UPDATE: I’ve read some amazing posts since it is world mental health day and I’m going to share a few below hoping that they might help you!
Tips & advice 
Tips to help yourself or others
A playful article about crafting
Poetry
And more poetry
Sean’s testimony

Lots of love!
-A doctor in spe

7 comments

  1. Wonderful, thumbs up for the taking the time to have this discussion about mental health, i was mind blown when i realized some of the symptoms are easily overlooked by even myself. How do we really know when its a random mood swing versus a sign of depression..it baffles the mind. But an awareness is always the first step! good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really love this post ! Could you please direct people on to my page to read my blog post on mental health day and read my story through my journey which means a lot to me ! This blog has been years in the making and I’d really appreciate people reading it and taking something from my story ! Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantastic post! I totally agree, the stigma still attached to mental health is totally outdated and desperately needs to be broken! No one should ever feel ashamed or embarassed to suffer with any illness, and mental illness is no exception. Thank you for being open and speaking out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

